G. Stupart, Maryborough:
George Stupart was born in Stirling, Scotland in 1841. He moved first to London, then to Brisbane in 1862. In partnership with Mr John Young he had drapery and grocery stores in Ipswich, Helidon and Gatton, Queensland, around 1865. They sold up and moved to Gympie in 1868 during its gold rush, then to Marysborough in 1871 and established what became known as the “Drapery Palace”. Young left the business after a short while, Stupart continuing alone. The store was destroyed in a fire in 1876, but he rebuilt, only to suffer from a flood in 1893. None-the-less he prospered, and in 1911 the firm became Stuparts Limited. It was by then a department store, including a furniture department. He had been very active in the community, in the chamber of commerce, the Presbyterian Church and in 1890 he was the mayor of Maryborough. When he died in July 1918., he was remembered as the “Grand Old Man of Maryborough”. The following year Allan & Stark took a controlling interest in the firm. In 1976 it was part of the Burns Philip & Co group of companies. The company was still in existence in 1987, however, the store in Maryborough ceased to trade as Stupard’s sometime after 1974.
J. W. Jones, Rockhampton:
With many years of experience in drapery, Jospeh Wellesby Jones (1869-1931) was the manager of Mr Charles Gilbert’s Rockhampton branch of tailoring company, when in 1902 his boss offered him the chance to by the store located in East Street. He renovated and set up the firm of J. W. Jones Limited.
In September 1931, Mr Jones died, aged 61 years. He had been active for many years in the local School of Arts, a lodge member as well as a keen bowler and tennis player.In January 1932 the firm of J. W. Jones Limited was in liquidation. The stock was sold by Kirby’s, and a new drapers set up in his former store.